COVID-19 Golf Rules Q&A "When is a ball holed?"
COVID-19 has currently changed how we play the game of golf, however there are a few areas we are seeing that seems to be confusing to members and guests.
When is a ball holed?
A ball is determined to be holed when the ball is at rest (Not moving) and any part of the ball is inside the hole.
If I hit the pin and it bounces out is that holed?
No. A part of the ball must be inside the hole when it is at rest (not moving).
If my ball hits the foam and bounces out, is that holed?
No. Again, a ball is determined to be holed when the ball is at rest (Not moving) and any part of the ball is inside the hole.
That seems pretty straight forward and it is, however in regards to posting of scores it gets a bit confusing as the score you post might not necessarily be the same as the score you shot for the game you were in.
The USGA has added a temporary amendments for positing and handicap purposes for COVID-19. Two of these TEMPORARY amendments are the following:
- If you determine that, in your best judgment, your ball would have been holed more than 50% of the time had there not been a foam (or other material) insert, you must record your score for handicap purposes ONLY as if the ball was holed.
- if you determine that, in your best judgment, that you would have wanted to remove the pin but we're not allowed to under club rules and your ball would have been holed more than 50% of the time had you removed the pin, you must record your score for handicap purposes ONLY as if the ball was holed.
These amendments are for score posting only, they are not to be used in events unless your group adds them to your group rules and remember, they are temporary.
All else fails, a round played under these conditions will result in an acceptable score for handicap purposes using the most likely score guidelines (see Rule 3.3 of the Rules of Handicapping).